The Chilbury Ladies' Choir

Author(s): Jennifer Ryan

Fiction

'The writing glows with emotional intelligence. This atmospheric debut...had me sniffing copiously' Daily MailIN WARTIME, SURVIVAL IS AS MUCH ABOUT FRIENDSHIP AS IT IS ABOUT COURAGE...Kent, 1940. In the idyllic village of Chilbury change is afoot. Hearts are breaking as sons and husbands leave to fight, and when the Vicar decides to close the choir until the men return, all seems lost. But coming together in song is just what the women of Chilbury need in these dark hours, and they are ready to sing. With a little fighting spirit and the arrival of a new musical resident, the charismatic Miss Primrose Trent, the choir is reborn. Some see the choir as a chance to forget their troubles, others the chance to shine. Though for one villager, the choir is the perfect cover to destroy Chilbury's new-found harmony... An uplifting and heart-warming novel perfect for fans of Helen Simonson's The Summer before the War and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

$23.00(NZD)

Poppies Howick
Available Stock:
2
Poppies Hamilton
Available Stock:
1
Poppies New Plymouth
Available Stock:
4
Poppies Havelock North
Available Stock:
0

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

`The writing glows with emotional intelligence. This atmospheric debut, based on the author's own family history, had me sniffing copiously' Daily Mail `I am completely and utterly in love with this book. What a joy! It may be in my all-time top five - I just adore every single thing about it' JILL MANSELL `Lyrical, poetic, emotional, funny, endearing, surprising - it is a masterpiece' VERONICA HENRY author of How to Find Love in a Book Shop `I adored it, it made me want to sing with joy' ALEX BROWN, author of The Secret of Orchard Cottage `Delightful... it manages to be sad and funny, exciting and heart-warming, all at the same time. Quite an achievement'BARBARA ERSKINE author of Sleeper's Castle `I adored The Chilbury Ladies' Choir! The pages sing with such wonderful characters, and through them wartime England really comes alive. Warm, witty, touching and uplifting, I will be recommending this to all my friends' HAZEL GAYNOR author of The Girl from the Savoy

Jennifer Ryan is originally from Kent and now lives in the Washington, DC area with her husband and two children. She was previously a nonfiction book editor.

General Fields

  • : 9780008163730
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Limited
  • : Harper Element
  • : January 2018
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : January 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Jennifer Ryan
  • : Paperback
  • : 218
  • : English
  • : 464